Theatre to look forward to in 2017

With seeing 19 different shows last year (21 performances in total), 2017 has a lot to live up to in the theatre stakes. So far, I have eleven shows booked and I am sure that there will be more than that by the end of the year. After all, I am visiting London three times this year, that could be a lot of visits to the Leicester Square TKTS booth.

Repeat Visits:

I am making quite a few repeat visits to shows that I have seen before this year, and that is not a bad thing. I love seeing shows more than once if possible, whether it be from a better seat or not. A show is never the same twice, there may different performers on in different roles with differences in how the role is played by the different performers. Even if this isn’t the case, a show never feels the same way twice.

Mamma Mia –  I have seen Mamma Mia twice in London (once from the God seats in the balcony, and once from the stalls), but this will the first time seeing the production on it’s National tour. I don’t know if there will be any differences in the way the show is performed but I know that it will be a completely new cast and I am very much looking forward to seeing how it is done. I have heard very good things about the tour production and can not wait to see it.

Half A Sixpence – This show is the reason that I am making an extra trip to London this year. I fell in love with it when I saw it back in November and just knew that I would have to see it again before it’s scheduled closing date. I am, of course, hoping that it doesn’t close. It’s up for eight What’s On Stage awards, and I know that it must be in line for some Olivier’s too. Plus its a Cameron Mackintosh show, and when was the last time one of those had a short run. But, I know that the  Noel Coward is known as  a short run theatre, so I don’t really know what is going to happen. Nevertheless, I simply can’t wait to see this show again. It was amazing, it is one of the best shows that I have ever seen, and I have seen a lot. The dancing was spectacular and leading man Charlie Stemp is an incredible performer with the most amazing energy. Roll on March, when I get to see this wonderful show again.

The Commitments – I last saw this show back in 2015, in the grand Palace Theatre. It was brilliantly funny and the music was just so much fun. When I heard it was going on tour, it was a while before it was announced that it was coming any where near me. So when I saw that it was coming to Plymouth, I just knew I had to go and see it.

The Wind in the Willows – I saw this charming and delightful production in October, on it’s World Premiere press night in Plymouth. It was so lovely, and cleaver and the music is beautiful. When it was announced that it was heading to London, I was excited at the chance to see it again. Plus, it’s going into the famous London Palladium which I have never been too, so that’s exciting too. I am just waiting for a cast announcement now. I know that Rufus Hound will be continuing his run as Mr Toad, but I want to know the rest of the cast for I loved the cast I saw in Plymouth, particularly Thomas Howes as Ratty and Fra Fee as Moley.

Les Miserables – This will be my third visit to Les Miserables, and I just love it. The music is amazing, there is just something very special about it. I last saw it back in 2015, and gave it a miss last year to see new things. But this year, I decided to go back to see a new cast take on the roles and I am very excited to see this spectacular production from the front row.

First Visits:

The Curious Incident of the Dog in The Night Time – Normally, I go to musicals inclusively, but this year I am giving a couple of plays a go, including this one. I did want to see it in London, but tickets were not easy to come by at a reasonable rate. Then, of course, there was the news that the production was to close in London and embark on  a New UK tour. I have heard very good things and have a few friends who have seen it and they all tell me that it is very good.

The Play that goes wrong – Another that I have heard nothing but good things about. Plus it’s a lot cheaper to see it on tour than it is see in London! I loved watching Peter Pan goes Wrong over Christmas and can’t wait to see this show. I hear it is hilarious, and have seen many good reviews for it.

The Wedding Singer – I first saw snippets of this show back in June last year at West End Live, and knew than that I wanted to see the whole show. It’s another one that that is coming down to Plymouth and I am sure that it is going to be great fun. There’s a few people in it that I have seen in other shows before too, and that’s always fun to see them performing a different role.

Beautiful – This is another show that I would have loved to see in London, but the tickets are very expensive for  a decent show. So when I heard it was touring down to Plymouth, I knew that it would be worth a visit. It’s meant to be really good from what I have heard, and I have always enjoyed the snippets I have seen of it on Television or at West End Live.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – That’s right, I have tickets to this. How I got the ticket is a completely different and long story. I think everyone wants to see this, whether they have followed Harry Potter from the beginning or not. People just want to be able to say that they have seen it and that they have ‘Kept the secrets’. I booked to see this show back in August last year, and have to wait until November this year to see it. So far, I have managed to avoid all spoilers, which is quite impressive in itself. I haven’t read the screenplay and have avoided finding out anything about it. I want to be surprised. Only another ten and a half months left to avoid all spoilers but so far so good. I cannot wait to see it and experience the magic. Plus it is running in the Palace theatre, which is appropriate seeing as that place looks like Hogwarts on the inside, which statues, paintings and grand marble staircases.

Nativity the musical – A bit of Christmas fun. Who doesn’t love the film with Martin Freeman in which he tries to get Hollywood to attend his primary school nativity play, resulting in the most spectacular over the top nativity ever seen. Now it is coming to the stage, with the same brilliant songs and I am sure that there will be some very talented children involved. I am really looking forward to this because it is just going to be fun and a perfect way to get into the Christmassy mood.

That’s my year so far, even though I am sure that there is going to be plenty more. It has to live up to last year after all.

 

Leave a Reply

